Saturday, June 5, 2010

A fancy new El Naschie Web site

It uses a professional-looking template and was put together by Online Design using Adobe's ColdFusion. You can tell it's a work-in-progress. Some drop-down menus on the contact page, for example, have placeholder text.

Readers will recall that these are the four Web sites hitherto most closely associated with the great man:
El Naschie's home page.

Mohamed Mustafa's Cairo-based blog. Lots of Arabic newspaper clippings.

The Golden Mean in Quantum Mechanics and High Energy Physics.

And here is the new one:

His old home page was evidently used as a starting point, but this is broader in scope. In comparison with his old front page, there are these two major changes:

First, he's no longer claiming to have been made a full professor: The text including "After becoming full Professor of Engineering he followed his inclination towards theoretical subjects..." has been deleted.

Second, the infamous triple-Laureate photoshop has been removed.

He uses Nasr Ahmed's article, which Dr. Ahmed may not be pleased to discover.

This page offers some PDFs for download. His description of the book "Quantum Mechanics, Diffusion and Chaotic Fractals" which he co-edited with Nobel Laureate Ilya Prigogine incorrectly lists them as co-authors.

His old home pages showed Anke Boehm as the domain name registrant, but whois doesn't reveal the registrant for Instead, we get this inadequate information:

Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Whois Server:
Referral URL:
Name Server: NS1.ODHOSTS.CO.UK
Name Server: NS2.ODHOSTS.CO.UK
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 27-may-2010
Creation Date: 27-may-2010
Expiration Date: 27-may-2011

Shrink points to this legal case (unrelated to El Naschie) where it explains about

Finally, the Panel notes the use of a privacy protection service, namely which is currently listed as the registrant. allows an entity to get around a “public”, thus allowing the true registrant to hide behind the name “”

Here's their whois data:

Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Whois Server:
Referral URL:
Name Server: DNS1.TUCOWS.COM
Name Server: DNS2.TUCOWS.COM
Name Server: DNS3.TUCOWS.COM
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 17-mar-2010
Creation Date: 15-apr-2005
Expiration Date: 15-apr-2011

El Naschie must have asked Online Design if they could prevent inconvenient whois sleuthing such as El Naschie Watch carried out in the Pecunia non olet case.

Translate English to Arabic
محمد النشائى El Naschie Watch محمد النشائي El Naschie News محمد النشائى محمد النشائي All El Naschie All The Time محمد النشائى


  1. I guess it is very convenient that in the transition between websites he can get rid off the forged photo which is missing as you already noticed. It is evidence of his been a fraudster and a con man, but he was afraid to remove it because that would blow all his "it's not relevant"-cover.
    It is not a vey bold call to say that his present website will go offline rather quickly, I say in the course of the next week.

  2. It would be fun to have a betting pool for when it goes off-line.

  3. Yeah, the Great Man uses the services of:

    to cover the registrant/domain owner. He didn't like the "Pecunia Non Olet" piece, I suppose. :D

    Jason, you can set up an opinion pool or something for when the old site goes down.

  4. Shrink, is a commercial service that El Naschie paid for? I haven't seen it before.

  5. Note that the page
    (linked from "work") contains at least one known false institutional affiliation associated to the articles, i.e., it includes DAMTP Cambridge for the article "Statistical mechanics of multi-dimensional Cantor sets, Gödel theorem and quantum spacetime" published in journal of the Franklin Institute in 1993.

    Get a copy of the page before it disappears... It also has some creative spellings
    "Chaos, Sokvzs & Fracrals"
    "Chaos, Sohrons & Frocral"
    "Chaos, Solrrons & Fraclals"
    "Chaos Sokvzs & Fracrals"
    making it appear to have come direct from OCR from some dirty scans (it claims to come from google scholar, but the above errors don't occur on google scholar), and some links to pdfs, including the above-mentioned, are broken.

    One link that works is to this one:
    On Turbulence and Complex Dynamic in a Four-Dimensional Peano-Hilbert Space. Journal of the Franklin Institute vol 330, no 1, pp 183-198 (1993)
    in which his affiliation is listed as
    Dept of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Cornell University.

    Is it known that he spent time in Ithaca, NY in the early 1990s?
    Would anyone at Cornell be able to verify his affiliation?

  6. He was in Ithaca, NY for a long enough time for there to be residential records for him and his wife. I don't have a link handy but I've come across them.

    The gallery of the new site is tiny. I have saved the old gallery.

    I haven't seen a single mention of 't Hooft anywhere. Even in that first new gallery picture which shows 't Hooft (third from left) El Naschie didn't use the opportunity to name-drop. 't Hooft may have begun to gently distance himself from the great man. First there was El Naschie's accusation against 't Hooft's colleague Renate Loll of stealing his work, then the embarrassing photoshop. And now El Naschie is passing up the opportunity to see 't Hooft at Frontiers of Fundamental Physics 11 in July.

  7. Based on this:

    "allows an entity to get around a “public”, thus allowing the true registrant to hide behind the name “”"

    El Naschie is clearly paying this service.

  8. I don't know, if this is new:

    but it's interesting, especially his thoughts about economy (Galbraith is not missing).

  9. That's a glitzy updated version of a paper we mentioned here, and it's new to me. El Naschie's spending some money on his new site it seems.